Mini Guide to Moving to Yemen: 5: Are you ESL Certified?

You’ll probably definitely want to think about getting certified (and start a program soon) to teach ESL as this is, to my knowledge, where most Muslim foreigners find employment.

Offline degrees are more esteemed than online ones, but certification is definitely better than being non certified. Not to say that you cannot get a job without one, because its possible, but among other things, the pay will probably be less.

Also, having an education degree (BA, MA, etc), in general, may help you to fare better as well insha Allah.

If this is what you are considering, you may want to look at my private schools page to see a listing of some of the private schools in Sana’a, that you might apply for a job at.  I have heard of salaries ranging from $400/month to up to $2,000.

 

If you reside in Yemen and have found employment outside of the ESL/teaching field, please drop me a line and let me know so that I can pass this information onto others (as to what other types of opportunities are available) here on the blog, insha Allah.

