Grocery Find #4

Kraft Macaroni and Cheese is at Shumaila Hari. (You know, the blue box….) A little expensive for our big family, but one box is 560 riyals……..

Speaking of macaroni and cheese, when we first got here, I couldn’t find a suitable cheese, so I used the triangle type cheese.  Then I discovered the cylinder canned cheeses (Kraft, Happy Cow, etc) and began using those for a more homemade macaroni and cheese taste.  They are good but don’t quite give you that Amreeki cheese taste.  Shumaila Hari is getting so many more American products now such as Cracker Barrel Cheese and Kraft Shredded cheese in the bag, masha Allah, however, the prices of these items (to me) is extremely high and only doable for a splurge every now and then, but still, they are here, masha Allah…………………….

3 Responses

  1. Bismillaah. Peace be upon Prophet Muhammad.
    As-Salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakatu,
    Umm Ibrahim.
    Al-hamdulillaah, it’s so nice to find your site on Yemen. Although my husband and I are planning to move to Tarim with our family, I feel your site will be very helpful, inshaa’Allaah. As a woman, I have so many questions and concerns…laundry, c-sections, hospitals, water, where to live, etc. I haven’t been able to really talk to many people from or in Yemen to get a feel for what to expect. I don’t know about the cheeses available in Tarim, but do the packages of kraft/craker barrel cheeses in San’a bear a kosher/halal symbol, since it’s being sold in a Muslim country (i.e. does kraft,etc. change their ingredients based on the needs of the country it’s being sold to?) To my knowledge, most USA kraft cheeses, with the exception of philadelphia cream cheese, may not be halal, due to the presence of animal rennet/enzymes from pork, beef and the like…they don’t even bear kosher symbols. I’m just scared that I’m going to have to be “label-shy” even in a Muslim country. Let me know if you have any info, inshaa’Allaah. Shukran and jazaakillaah.
    –Umm Muhammad

  2. wa alaykum us salaam,

    Good point. I have been in a Muslim country so long that you sort of take these things for granted.

    For the most part in a Muslim country, you don’t have to worry about the ingredients as you would in a non Muslim country.

    But you are right, that is not to say that you don’t have to still be careful. Some American type products are imported from American and of course those may not be halal.

    There are some divisions of American companies that are located in Muslim countries and they make the products locally.

    There are many products, such as packaged meats that do tell you that they are halal on the packages, but not everything says this.

    You can always stick to the smaller neighborhood stores and local products and might not run into that problem as much.

    But if in doubt, of course, check it out. As I have seen in other areas than food, you get comfortable thinking that something is ok because the local Muslims are doing it, but in fact, it may not be correct. Its very easy to fall into error this way.

  3. Bismillaah. Peace be upon Prophet Muhammad.
    As-Salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullaahi wa barakatu, Umm Ibrahim and to your family and friends.
    Shukran and jazaakillaah for the heads up and for answering my question. I really appreciate you taking the time to put this blog together. It has been extremely helpful to me, and although some things may be specific to San’a, things aren’t so “foreign” to me anymore. Keep up the good work, inshaa’Allaah.
    –Umm Muhammad

Comments are closed.

